T20I Series: Sri Lanka take down the No. 1 T20I Team Pakitan

T20I Series: Sri Lanka take down the No. 1 T20I Team Pakitan

Sri Lanka have taken down the No. 1 T20I side, Pakistan to claim the series. It was Sri Lanka’s captain Dasun Shanaka who won the toss and opted to bat first on a good looking track for the batsmen. They have won the match by 35 runs.

Bhanuka Rajapaksa’s energetic maiden T20I fifty (77 off 48) and more finishing fireworks from the captain himself helped Sri Lanka to post a very good total of 182 on the board.

While in chasing Sri Lanka’s bowlers did hurt Pakistan in the Powerplay for the second time in a row. The hosts needed a win to keep series alive but Pakistan saw a very much known middle-order collapse as they were 52 for 5 at the end of 8th overs.

Pakistan lost 3 wickets in the space of just 4 balls and that was the perfect time for the guests to take the series from Pakistan in their own backyard.

There was a glimmer of hope when Imad Wasim aided Pakistan with quickfire 47 runs to put Sri Lanka on backfoot for some time. His partnership with Asif Ali was looking so threatening for Islanders until Imad got out.

Bhanuka Rajapaksa was named Man of the Match for his electrifying innings. Sri Lanka now lead the 3-match series 2-0 with the last match to be played on Wednesday.


Content Writer for trendinges.com.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *