Cricket World Cup Final: Umpire Dharmasena admits his error at crucial stage of the game

The Sri Lankan umpire Kumar Dharmasena has admitted making a crucial mistake in the Cricket World 2019 final between the hosts England and New Zealand. The umpire admitted the mistake but it was the collective one with leg umpire Marais Erasmus, he said further on that he would never regret his decision.

“It’s easy for people to comment after seeing TV replays,” Kumar Dharmasena told the Sunday Times. He further added: “I agree that there was a judgmental error when I see it on TV replays now. But we did not have the luxury of TV replays at the ground and I will never regret the decision I made. Beside the ICC praised me for the decision I made at that time.”

It was Australian former umpire Simon Taufel who pointed out that an error had been made regarding those overthrow runs. Under Law 19.8, pertaining to an “overthrow or wilful act of fielder”, England’s Stokes should only have been awarded for five runs when New Zealand’s Martin Guptill’s throw deflected off his bat and to the boundary rope. In simple terms the equation that came down from 9 off 3 balls to 3 off 2 with Ben Stokes retaining strike should have been 4 off 2 balls with Adil Rashid on strike.

Dharmasena who found himself in trouble in the 2nd semi-final of the tournament when he had given England’s opener Jason Roy caught behind, after that dismissal the replays showed otherwise, the ball ball had not connected to anything. He came in for further criticism after the final.

“One must understand that there were too many things on our plate,” Kumar Dharmasena said. “We had to watch the batsmen complete the first run, the ball being fielded, how it was handled by the fielder and whether the batsmen completed the second run. And where the throw would come from – the striker’s end or non-striker’s end. In this case, we were all happy that the batsmen had completed the second run because the ball ricocheted off Stokes’ bat at the time of him completing the second run. So, we assumed that they had crossed each other at the time of fielder releasing the ball.”

“These are things that happen in a cricket field,” Sri Lankan umpire said. “For instance, an umpire can call a wide or a no-ball wrongly and just because the TV replays shows otherwise, we cannot go back and reverse the match. This is one such incident.”

Max

Content Writer for trendinges.com.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *