South Africa name squad for Australia ODIs, Faf du Plessis rested

Quinton de Kock will lead the home side against red-hot Australian team.

Cricket South Africa have announced the squad for three ODI matches against Australia. The 15-member squad misses former captain Faf du Plessis as the selectors have decided to provide him rest. Earlier, he had missed the full limited-overs leg versus England.

While the Test specialist Keshav Maharaj has been added in the ODI squad to fight Australian team in ODIs. The first ODI of a three-match series will be played on Saturday. Maharaj was last seen in in 2018 for One Day game against Sri Lanka.

Rassie van der Dussen and Dwaine Pretorius also have been left out for the series with Janneman Malan, Lutho Sipamla and Kyle Verreynne are set to get chances. Kagiso Rabada will make his comeback in this format to lead the bowling unit.

Squad: Quinton de Kock (capt, wk), David Miller, Kagiso Rabada, Temba Bavuma, Keshav Maharaj, Tabraiz Shamsi, Lungi Ngidi, Andile Phehlukwayo, Heinrich Klaasen, Janneman Malan, Jon-Jon Smuts, Anrich Nortje, Lutho Sipamla, Beuran Hendricks, and Kyle Verreyenne.


Content Writer for

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *