Russell, Thomas return to West Indies squad for Sri Lanka T20Is

Oshan Thomas and Fabian Allen have also been added to the squad.

West Indies have named a 14-member squad for Sri Lanka T20Is. The selectors have recalled all-rounder Andre Russell and fast bowler Oshane Thomas in the team. The hard-hitting batsman Shimron Hetmyer, after declaring fit, has been included in the unit as well. Windies will be led by Kieron Pollard for a couple of games.

Russell hasn’t featured in an international game for West Indies since leaving the 50-over World Cup in June 2019 with injury. He he has taken part in the Bangladesh Premier League in December and January. The matches will be played on March 4 and March 6, after the ongoing three-match One Day International series.

Expressing his thoughts on the squad, CWI Lead Selector Roger Harper said: “Shimron Hetmyer missed out on selection for the ODI squad. He has since attained the required fitness level, becoming available for selection and has been included. Andre Russell is back in the squad, having been cleared by the medical panel and successfully completing CWI’s return-to-play protocol. Andre will add potency to every department of the team. Oshane Thomas appears to be focused and raring to go. He will add pace and penetration to the bowling unit.

“Shai Hope provides an opening option and cover as a back-up wicket-keeper also. Fabian Allen returns from the injury he sustained in the series against Afghanistan late last year. He will provide a spin bowling option as well as adding depth to the batting group.”

Squad: Kieron Pollard (capt), Fabian Allen, Dwayne Bravo, Sheldon Cottrell, Shimron Hetmyer, Shai Hope, Brandon King, Nicholas Pooran, Rovman Powell, Andre Russell, Lendl Simmons, Oshane Thomas, Hayden Walsh Jr, Kesrick Williams.


Content Writer for

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *