New Zealand name squad for India ODI series, Kyle Jamieson earns first call-up

Hamish Bennett has also made his comeback to One Day team alongside Scott Kuggeleijn.

New Zealand have announced a 13-member squad for three ODIs against India. Too many injuries force New Zealand Cricket to announce the new look team as they have called up Kyle Jamieson for home series vs red-hot Virat Kohli’s team. The quick bowler has been included in the side to provide some bowling options in the absence of Trent Boult, Lockie Ferguson and Matt Henry.

Fast bowlers Hamish Bennet and Scott Kuggeleijn are among other returnees to the squad for Black Caps while leg spinner Ish Sodhi will play only the first match. Tim Southee is set to lead the inexperience fast bowling unit in the absence of regular trio – Boult, Ferguson, Henry.

Kiwis will play their first ODI since the ICC Cricket World Cup 2019’s final against the hosts, England. Jimmy Neesham, Colin de Grandhomme and Mitchell Santner will give some all-round options to captain Kane Williamson.

“Tim Southee has an important job leading our new look pace attack, which has a huge opportunity against some of the very best batsmen in the world,” New Zealand coach Gary Stead said. “While the bowling line-up has a fresh look, the batting is very settled and we’ll likely have the same top eight batsmen from the World Cup finals.

“Henry will remain at the top of the order after impressing in the opportunities he’s had. He’s been in good form opening for Canterbury in the latest rounds of the Ford Trophy with a hundred and a half-century to his name. It’s great to have Tom fit so we can call on his experience behind the stumps and in the middle order.”

Squad: Kane Williamson (capt), Hamish Bennett, Tom Blundell, Colin de Grandhomme, Martin Guptill, Kyle Jamieson, Scott Kuggeleijn, Tom Latham, Jimmy Neesham, Henry Nicholls, Mitchell Santner, Ish Sodhi (first ODI), Tim Southee, Ross Taylor.


Content Writer for

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *