New Zealand announce squad fot Test series against Sri Lanka

New Zealand announce squad fot Test series against Sri Lanka

New Zealand have announced their squad for two Test series against Sri Lanka. In a 15-men squad, they have named four spinners in the squad for the series which marks the beginning of the World Test Championship for both teams. Mitchell Santner and Todd Astle have been added to the squad to provide balance as all-rounders.

While Ajaz Patel and William Somerville played important roles in New Zealand’s series against Pakistan in UAE last year when they have won the historic 2-1 series. Ajaz had 13 wickets in the series, while Somerville took seven wickets in Abu Dhabi in the final Test.

“Playing three spinners is an option in Sri Lankan conditions and we believe this group provides the best variations and skill mix on offer,” Black Caps coach Gary Stead said. “England were playing three spinners against Sri Lanka on their successful visit there last year and the slow bowlers also dominated the previous series against South Africa.”

Lockie Ferguson missed out on selection, he is yet to play a Test match for New Zealand. The fast bowler has taken 21 wickets in the recent concluded Cricket World Cup. Kiwis have also gone in with their three specialist pacers, Trent Boult, Tim Southee and Neil Wagner. BJ Watling and Tom Blundell are the two wicketkeepers in the squad.

The first Test of the series will be played in Galle on August 14.

New Zealand Squad: Kane Williamson (capt), Ross Taylor, Tom Latham, Tom Blundell, Trent Boult, Colin de Grandhomme, Henry Nicholls, Ajaz Patel, Todd Astle, Jeet Raval, Will Somerville, Neil Wagner, Mitchell Santner, Tim Southee, BJ Watling


Content Writer for

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *