ICC Cricket World Cup 2019: Pakistan break winning streak of New Zealand

ICC Cricket World Cup 2019: Pakistan break winning streak of New Zealand

New Zealand’s winning streak in the Cricket World Cup 2019 has been broken by Pakistan Cricket Team as they have clinched yet another pivotal victory in the tournament. It was Kane Williamson who won the toss and decided to have bat first.

New Zealand struggled earlier bit time as they have lost their best opening batsman Martin Guptill to a bowler who is in form of his life, Mohammad Amir. After That Wicket It was only Shaheen Shah Afridi, who shone for Pakistan and rattled Kiwi top order in no time.

Shaheen took 3 wickets in his frist spell and that caused a great dent to New Zealand batting line-up. Kiwis were 46-4 when they lost Tom Latham to Afridi in 13th over. New Zealand all-rounder Jimmy Neesham‘s unbeaten 97 had given them a chance on a slow pitch. Neesham was helped by Colin de Grandhomme, who scored 64. The 132-run partnership was ended when De Grandhomme was run out.

In reply, Pakistan took a shaky start as they lost Fakhar Zaman early to Trent Boult. But despite beating the bat many times, Mitchell Santner went wicketless, and interestingly it was Kane Williamson who was the partnership breaker as Mohammad Hafeez caught at deep midwicket.

Babar Azam and Haris Sohail, who scored a brisk 89 against South Africa – batted beautifully in a match-winning partnership of 126. Babar scored his 1st World Cup and 10th ODI century from 124 balls. He was Named man of the Match.

Pakistan will be meeting Afghanistan on Saturday at Leeds and New Zealand will face Australia on same day at London.


Content Writer for trendinges.com.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *