England name squad for Sri Lanka tour, Anderson misses out

This squad will be led by Joe Root. Joe Denly and Zak Crawly kept their places for Test series in Sri Lanka.

England have announced a 16-member squad for tour of Sri Lanka, starting from March 19. The selectors have included wicketkeeper batsman Ben Foakes and opener Keaton Jennings for a two-match Test series. Foakes debuted in Galle Test in 2018 where he struck a hundred. He was also the Player of the series as his team whitewashed Islanders 3-0.

All-rounder Moeen Ali remains unavailable for Test cricket selection. Jonny Bairstow and seamer James Anderson have been omitted from the unit. The former has been discarded with his poor run of form while later has been give more time to continue his rehabilitation from a rib injury. Anderson, England’s most successful bowler, is eyeing English summer for return to international cricket.

Another quick Jofra Archer has not been included with injury problem. Jack Leach is fit to be part of England’s side that will take on home Sri Lankan Team. He grabbed 18 wickets when they last visited Sri Lanka in November 2018.

Squad: Joe Root (capt), Keaton Jennings, Stuart Broad, Jos Buttler, Zak Crawley, Sam Curran, Joe Denly, Ollie Pope, Ben Foakes, Jack Leach, Matthew Parkinson, Dom Bess, Dom Sibley, Ben Stokes, Chris Woakes and Mark Wood.


Content Writer for trendinges.com.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *