Australia name Ashes squad, Bancroft, Wade and M Marsh return

Australia name Ashes squad, Bancroft, Wade and M Marsh return

Australia have named their 17-member squad for the Ashes series against England. They have recalled their opening batsman Cameron Bancroft, wicketkeeper Matthew Wade and all rounder Mitchell Marsh for series. It is the first time for Cameron Bancroft that Australia have named him in the squad since a ninth-month ban.

James Pattinson also made his comeback in the team. He was last featured in a Test for Australia in 2016. Wicketkeeper Matthew Wade and all rounder Mitchell Marsh also earned recalls for the Ashes series. While wicketkeeper Alex Carey missed out.

On Carey Hohns said: “Very tough call that one, on Alex, He’s been in very good form as we saw in the World Cup. We know in the short term if anything was to happen to Tim Paine, either during a game or what have you, we have two people in that squad who can cover. But if it were to be a long-term [issue] that’s where Alex would come in. He’s still in the country, and we’d have no hesitation calling him in.”

Australia’s opening batsman David Warner and their former captain Steven Smith are all set to play their first Test match since spending a one-year ban. Warner and Smith both returned to international cricket in the recent Cricket World Cup after their suspensions ended in March.

“David Warner, Steve Smith and Cameron Bancroft have forced their way back in to the Test squad through the excellence of their recent performances,” Said Trevor Hohns, who is chairman of selectors.

Australia have named a strong pace attack including Mitchell Starc, Pat Cummins, Josh Hazlewood, James Pattinson, Michael Neser and Peter Siddle. Siddle is playing his fifth Ashes series.

Tim Pain will lead the Australian side in the Ashes 2019 in England. Wade has been addded as the backup wicketkeeper. Australia picked Nathan Lyon as their frontline spinner for the tour. Apart from Lyon Australia will have an option of Marnus Labuschagne’s wrist-spin.

“We have opted to select one frontline spinner in Nathan Lyon. We have faith in his ability, we know our strength lies in our pace attack and we have Marnus Labuschagne’s leg-spin as another spin option as he has bowled almost 200 overs for county side Glamorgan in first-class cricket this season.”

“We have not won an Ashes series in the United Kingdom since 2001 but we are confident that this group of players can break that cycle and ensure we retain the urn that we won at home in the summer of 2017-18.”

Squad: Tim Paine (capt), Cameron Bancroft, Patrick Cummins, Marcus Harris, Josh Hazlewood, Travis Head, Usman Khawaja, Marnus Labuschagne, Nathan Lyon, Mitchell Marsh, Michael Neser, James Pattinson, Peter Siddle, Steven Smith, Mitchell Starc, Matthew Wade, David Warner.


Content Writer for

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *